Tags

, , , , , , ,

Here’s my first attempt at a gluten-free cake – however, this one was merely coincidental. It was inspired by the one I had at Dean & Deluca @ Mandarin Gallery. It was moist, full of zesty orange flavour and had an interesting crumbly texture to it (thanks to the almonds). Sadly, it was a whopping $9 for a teeny wedge. Gosh. Did someone say overpriced? My quick search online for ‘orange almond cake’ turned up 2,700,000 results. After comparing the recipes, I realised it was only made from 4 ingredients. Yes, four ingredients! It was pretty simple too – begin by boiling the orange, then blending it down before adding whipped eggs, sugar and ground almonds. The final result was utterly delicious, pretty darn close to the one at Dean & Deluca I must say! (Hehehe this totally sound like I’m blowing my own horn here) Their version had a glaze which helps to keep the cake moist for longer, especially when stored behind the glass display. I skipped that to keep it super simple. Looks like I’ll be making this again and again! 

Orange Almond Cake
gluten free and taste oh-so-good! strictly for orange lovers, this cake is intense! Adapted from taste.com.au
2 large navel oranges
5 organic free-range eggs
200g caster sugar (I reduced the sugar, but it was plenty sweet)
2 1/2 cups ground almonds, that’s 250g
1/2 t baking powder (I skipped this)

Place the oranges in a saucepan of water. Bring to a boil and simmer for an hour. Drain and cool. Chop the oranges into quarters, discard any seeds, and blend til smooth with an immersion blender. Whip the eggs and sugar until thickened and reaches the ribbon stage. Add the orange puree, ground almonds and baking powder and mix well. Pour into a non-stick pan (with removable botton) and bake at 160C for 50 mins. Let the cake rest before plating it. Enjoy!

