Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This summer break has been filled with dinner gatherings, lunch dates and brunches with good food and great company. Not that anybody’s complaining! I love exploring new restaurants and cafes in Singapore. At this rate, I would scarcely be able to fit into my clothes by the time the school term rolls around. So, I’ve been alternating between hitting the gym and zumba (in the privacy of my own home, of course). Brimming with rolled oats, flax, almonds and yogurt, these are the perfect pick-me-up after a good workout or to fuel up before one. Sometimes, I’ll mix it up by adding some currants or dried cranberries. One thing for sure, they are nothing near those fluffy and sweet bakery-style muffins which we’re all fond of. Well, these oatmeal muffins really do taste healthy, are barely sweet with a slight nuttiness. I like them toasted, with a smear of nut butter or some honey — these can also be made in advance and frozen for a quick breakfast on the go!

Oatmeal Muffins
the base recipe for my oatmeal muffin is straightforward and simple. Since there is so little sugar and no butter at all, I like to use natural flavours such as pure vanilla, orange zest and nuts for an extra oomph.

150 g organic rolled oats (approx 1.5 cups)
1/2 cup whole milk
100 g organic unbleached flour
80 g organic whole wheat flour
3 T ground flax
pinch of sea salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
3 T olive oil
2 organic eggs
60 g organic soft brown sugar
1 cup yogurt (I use plain, low-fat greek style yogurt)
1 cup almonds, toasted and chopped
1 tsp pure vanilla extract (I use Nielsen Massey vanilla)
*Variations: add in a handful of dried fruits, walnuts instead of almonds, orange segments + zest, diced apples or pears

Pour the milk over the rolled oats and let it soften while you prepare the batter. Mix together the dry ingredients. Whisk the olive oil, eggs, sugar, vanila and yogurt together until smooth. Fold in the dry mixture and oats. Lastly, mix in the almonds and dried fruits, if using. Bake in a oven preheated to 180C for 20 min. Makes 12 muffins.

