Tags

, , , , ,

These were pretty much the first cupcakes that I’ve ever made entirely on my own – way back in 2005 when I was just 13. I still remember scribbling down the recipe for Self-frosting Nutella Cupcakes from bakingbites.com (one of the first few food blogs which I had started to follow) It was easy-peasy and just the thing for our hot and humid weather – no more worries about melting frosting! Since then, I’ve altered and tweaked the recipe countless times but still remained true to Donna Hay’s ingenious idea of a self-frosted cupcake. Personally, I prefer my cupcakes with a finer crumb and texture, without the heavy, butter-laden greasiness. These are less sinful than the original but still pretty scrummy!

Nutella Swirl Cupcakes
the original recipe was quite a fool-proof one which promised utterly delicious, buttery cupcakes (even for a 13 year old). Eventually, I changed up the recipe to make it less sinful but still scrummy – with a finer crumb and lighter mouthfeel.

90g unsalted butter, softened
2/3 cup organic cane sugar, about 140g
1 t pure vanilla (i used my home-made vanilla extract)
2 large free-range eggs
200g organic unbleached all-purpose flour
2 t baking powder
1/2 t sea salt
1/3 cup whole milk
Nutella, approx 1/3 cup

Cream butter and sugar. Add in eggs and vanilla. Sift in the dry ingredients. Mix to combine. Fill each cupcake liner 2/3 way through. Top each cake with 1 1/2 tsp Nutella. Swirl Nutella in with a toothpick, making sure to fold a bit of batter up over the nutella. Bake at 180C for 20 minutes. Makes 12 cupcakes.

A huge bite.. nom nom

